Walking Tour 5

Jelení skok (Deer Jump) Funicular Station

Duration2 000 m
Ascent10 m
Sestup80 m
Time30 min
Consumption of energy: (70 kg)582 kJ
Consumption of energy: (80 kg)662 kJ

Jelení skok (Deer Jump) Funicular Station

Walk up the gently climbing sightseeing path to the Ecce Homo crossroads, continue down the moderately descending Odpolední pěšina (Afternoon Foot Path) to Slovenská Street. Turn left and walk back to the tennis courts and the bus stop of the Karlovy Vary – Březová line.


Tennis is first mentioned in connection with Karlovy Vary in 1897 when the first asphalt tennis court was built on the present-day site of Sluneční lázně (The Sun Spa). It was mainly used by the local army officers. In 1905, additional tennis courts were built in Gejzírpark (Geyser Park) with the aid of the technology used in England. Necessary background facilities were constructed in 1907 and 1908 and the facility immediately became the best-equipped tennis club in central Europe.

About Karlovy Vary

Karlovy Vary is absolutely unique in the number of curative hot springs in the world.

More about Karlovy Vary

Ready to help

The website is operated by the Information centre Karlovy Vary, contact us.

Contact the Tourist information centre