Walking Tour 16

Zámecký vrch (Castle Hill), Castle Colonnade

Duration5 600 m
Ascent145 m
Sestup138 m
Time85 min
Consumption of energy: (70 kg)1 043 kJ
Consumption of energy: (80 kg)1 604 kJ

Zámecký vrch (Castle Hill)

Walk left to Pod Jelením skokem (Below the Deer Jump) Street, continue right through the serpentines to Chotkova pěšina (Chotek's Foot Path). Turn left and climb up to moderate slope to the Ecce Homo crossroads. Turn right at the crossroads and walk along Rusalčina cesta (Rusalka's Path) to Kazatelna (Pulpit) where you will turn right to the forest path leading to the forest nursery on Sovova stezka (Sova's Path). Turn left to Lesovna Diana (Diana Forester's Lodge) and follow the descending Nerudova stezka (Neruda's Path) to Křižíkova Street. Walk past the Malé Versailles (Small Versailles) Restaurant to the "U Jezírka" (By the Pond) stop of bus line No. 4.

Castle Colonnade

Zámecká kolonáda (Castle Colonnade) was built between the years 1911 and 1913 by Viennese architect Friedrich Ohmann. A large relief of the "Spirit of the Spring" carved into stone by Václav Hejda in 1913 may be found in the colonnade atrium.

It is said that those who touch the Spirit's nose will return to Karlovy Vary or their wish will come true. The spring well of the Lower Castle Spring may be found in front of the relief.

About Karlovy Vary

Karlovy Vary is absolutely unique in the number of curative hot springs in the world.

More about Karlovy Vary

Ready to help

The website is operated by the Information centre Karlovy Vary, contact us.

Contact the Tourist information centre